Memories-A poem

I stumble upon a drawer, 

Making my toe sore 

Frustrated, I push it back 

When my eyes drift to a nearby rack

Numerous pictures and diaries catch my eye,

Shifting the contents, I pry

Memories slowly blind my eyes

Those shy hellos and hard goodbyes

The warm sands & faraway lands,

Things I did,

Now dance beneath my eyelids

As nothing but a mere memory…

Thousands of feelings wash over me 
déjà vu, sadness and glee

Those brave adventures

And secret ventures

Now, nothing but a mere memory…

These treasured moments

Now seem an era away,

But they will be remembered

Until the very last day

I close my eyes

As I take them all

Those sunset skies

And golden fall

Now, nothing but a mere memory…

I put them all back 

And close the rack

As memories tend to blind my eyes

Those shy hellos and hard goodbyes

2 thoughts on “Memories-A poem

Leave a Reply

