A new beginning, A new year – A poem

I write the date in my notebook,
Yet something doesn’t feel right
Eyeing it up, I look
When the top right corner catches my sight
Where once sixteen had been,
Stands a brand new seventeen
Seems a bit unusual and strange,
But at the same time
Feels like a good change 
A long year I reckon,
Went by in a split second 
Days worth remembering 
And evenings worth reliving 
Now, a sweet memory, a souvenir 
A new beginning, a new year 
Nervously, I clutch my fist
2016 you will be missed
For the sorrow times and joyous chimes,
The lazy afternoons & bracing monsoons,
The numerous endeavours & never ending forevers,
The ravishing dreams and moonlight’s gleam,
Which now seem like a sweet memory, a souvenir 
A new beginning, a new year!
I brace myself for a new start
“It’d be awesome” says my heart
I write the date in my notebook 
Yet this time, 
It’s looks as perfect as could look

3 thoughts on “A new beginning, A new year – A poem

Leave a Reply

